Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP)

The LIHEAP Program is designed to help low income eligible households meet the rising cost of home energy by providing financial assistance in the form of direct payments to the household’s energy vendor or the household.

LIHEAP provides a one-time benefit to eligible households for use towards energy costs. The payment amount is based on four criteria: Income, household size, fuel type, and geographic location.

Emergency Assistance – This component of LIHEAP provides supplemental energy assistance funds designed to help households maintain a continuous supply of home energy. Payments will be made only after a household has actually been disconnected from its energy source. The household must make a good faith effort at maintaining services or an emergency payment cannot be made on its behalf.  A limited portion of emergency funds are set aside for the repair and/or replacement of inoperable heating systems of income eligible homeowners.

Service Areas: Calhoun, Greene, Jersey, and Macoupin Counties

Illinois Home Weatherization Assistance Program

The Weatherization Program is designed to help low-income residents save fuel and money, while increasing the comfort of their homes.  Repairs are completed by qualified contractors employed by the agency. There is no charge to participants for material or labor. Renters may also be assisted if they are eligible and if the landlord agrees to the program terms. Depending on the circumstances and conditions of a dwelling, some of the following weatherization work may be done: sealing cracks with weather-strip and caulk, insulating attics and walls, repairing windows and doors. The Weatherization Program also assesses the home’s heating system to assure it is safe and in good working order.  An experienced contractor will clean, tune, repair, retrofit, or replace the heating system.  Energy and cost saving measures include replacing regular light bulbs with energy efficient ones; Health and safety measures include installing smoke alarms and carbon monoxide detectors.

 Service Areas: Calhoun, Greene, Jersey and Macoupin Counties